Brexit: How London MPs voted on Theresa May’s deal

Brexit: How London MPs voted on Theresa May’s deal

London has 73 MPs, of whom 46 are Labour, 21 are Conservative, 3 are Liberal Democrat and three are members of the newly-formed Independent Group, all of them formerly Labour. Last night, Theresa May’s slightly-tweaked Brexit deal was defeated in the Commons by 391 votes to 242 – a bruising margin of 149. How did the capital’s MPs vote?

Labour. All 46 voted against the May deal, including Jim Fitzpatrick (Poplar & Limehouse), who had said he would support it, and dedicated Brexiter Kate Hoey, MP for 70 per cent Remain-voting Vauxhall.

Conservative. London’s 21 Tories were far more divided over the May deal and were also divided among themselves. Most voted yes, but eight voted no. Of those eight, Iain Duncan Smith (Chingford & Woodford Green), Boris Johnson (Uxbridge & South Ruislip), Julia Lopez (Hornchurch & Upminster), Andrew Rosindell (Romford), Bob Stewart (Beckenham) and Theresa Villiers (Chipping Barnet) are Brexit-backers and the other two – Justine Greening (Putney) and Jo Johnson (Orpington) – are Remainers.

Liberal Democrats.  All three opposed the deal. No surprise there.

Independent Group. All three opposed to deal. No surprise there either.

The Prime Minister’s defeat, though heavy, was not as huge as in January, when she put her deal before MPs for the first time. On that occasion she was defeated by a record-breaking 230 votes. Five London Tory MPs contributed to the reduction in her losing margin by supporting her last night having opposed her deal last time. They are: Bob Blackman (Harrow East), Sir David Evennett (Bexleyheath & Crayford), Zac Goldsmith (Richmond Park), Greg Hands (Chelsea & Fulham) and Matthew Offord (Hendon).


Categories: News

1 Comment

  1. Malcolm Redfellow says:

    One has to muse on the relationship of Tory Constituency Associations and their sitting MPs (a.k.a. arm-twisting potential). Two examples there: Chipping Barnet is calculated to have voted ‘Remain’ around 60-40; Hendon was probably 59-41. Yet their MPs went different directions: Ms Villiers is vociferously Leave; Mr Offord resiled from his earlier position to support Mrs May’s ‘deal’.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *